The Public Safety Committee of the Eaton County Board of Commissioners approved an inter-local agreement at its Thursday meeting among the Village of Sunfield, the Eaton County Sheriff Department and the board of commissioners.

The agreement calls for the village to allocate $5,000 for special police services to enforce a 10 p.m. curfew for villagers under the age of 17 on weekends and weeknights. Chief Deputy Brian Peacock said the money would provide 100 extra hours of parole.

Commissioner Michael Hosey moved to support the agreement and committee Vice Chairperson Jeremy Whittum seconded the motion, thus approving to send the agreement to the board of commissioners for consideration.

The committee also unanimously agreed to send the board a grant request to enhance community corrections programs in Eaton County.

During the meeting, Peacock also reviewed the sheriff’s office reimbursement, court security screening and overtime reports.

First, the reimbursement report showed that the jail building held an average of 251 prisoners per day in September. Peacock said the jail population count is trending high, with 271 people in jail on Sept. 29. “It’s a good time of year to start developing the jail,” he said. “We filled it up pretty good, but we do have room.”

Next, the court security screening report showed that the department sent people back out the courthouse doors with 97 knives, 10 chemical agents and 32 other objects not allowed into the court. It detected no guns.

Finally, the overtime report revealed a “favorable balance,” Peacock said, adding that the office is projecting a general fund surplus.

“I have to hand it to the deputies on the road for controlling overtime cost,” he said. “(The officers) are working harder, lieutenants are scheduling smarter, guys aren’t taking off all the days they want to take off.”

The chief deputy added that the department has slightly fewer employees this month, as it proceeded with planned cuts during September.

The next committee meeting will take place Nov. 1 at 4 p.m. at the Eaton County Sheriff Department in Charlotte. All meeting agendas and minutes can be viewed under Public Safety Committee at